Jump to the beginning of content

Industry Consultation on the Draft Specification of Competency Standards (SCS) for the Catering Industry

The draft SCS for the Catering Industry prepared by the Catering Industry Training Advisory Committee (ITAC) is now ready for industry consultation. The consultation period starts from 15 June 2018 to 14 August 2018. Within the period, different stakeholders are welcome to providing comments on its contents and applicability.

1. Draft SCS for Catering Industry

This SCS production exercise mainly includes: (A) revise and update the SCS of Chinese Cuisine; and (B) produce a new set of SCS for the Part on Western cuisine and Asian cuisine.(based on the 2014 statistics of local restaurants and employee numbers, the following 7 Western and Asian cuisine restaurants were most popular and employed the largest workforces (excluding Chinese restaurants), namely American, French, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Thai, and Vietnamese restaurants)

The draft Catering SCS consists of 246 Units of Competency Standards (UoCs), which are distributed in 5 functional areas at QF levels 1 to 7.

Major Functional Areas

(click to download the UoCs of
individual functional area) (Chinese version only)

Distribution of the UoCsSub-total
Generic Skills 10 8 7 4 -- -- -- 29
Prof. Skills for the Production Section 40 52 19 8 3 1 -- 123
Prof. Skills for the Table Section 10 12 10 2 2 -- -- 36
Prof. Management Skills -- 1 10 10 7 5 3 36
Sales and Services Skills -- 1 4 9 3 3 2 22


2. Industry Consultation on the Draft SCS for the Catering Industry cum SCS Applications Sharing Session

Date: 20 June 2018 (Wednesday)
Time: 3:30 pm–5:30 pm
Venue: Auditorium, G/F., East Wing, Central Government Offices, 2 Tim Mei Avenue, Admiralty, Hong Kong