Jump to the beginning of content

Generic Level Descriptors (GLD)

The QF in Hong Kong (HKQF) is a 7-level hierarchy.  Each qualification is assigned a level in accordance with a set of Generic Level Descriptors (GLD) which specifies, in four domains, the outcome standards expected of the qualifications at each level.

To enhance the clarity and user-friendliness of the GLD, the Education Bureau (EDB) conducted a review on GLD in 2017. A set of Explanatory Notes, Reference and Practical Guides were also developed for easy reference of employers, operators and standard setters and evaluators.

The revised GLD remains to cover four domains which are:

(a) Knowledge and Intellectual Skills;

(b) Processes;

(c) Autonomy and Accountability; and

(d) Communication, ICT and Numeracy.

Revised GLD and Practical Tools

Use of Revised GLD 

Operators seeking HKQF-related accreditation services of the Hong Kong Council for Accreditation of Academic and Vocational Qualifications with the date of submission of accreditation documents on or after 1 April 2019 should adopt the revised GLD and Explanatory Notes (i.e. 2018 version). Please contact HKCAAVQ for further enquiry.

Other stakeholders are encouraged to adopt the revised GLD at a pace suitable to their own context.